Plenary Speakers

Joseph Cesario
Associate Professor of Psychology,
Michigan State University

Dr. Joseph Cesario is an Associate Professor of Psychology at Michigan State University. He studies social cognition and decision-making. He is dedicated to reform in the practice, reporting, and publication of psychological science, and is co-founding editor (with Kai Jonas) of Comprehensive Results in Social Psychology, the field's first peer-review preregistration journal.

Personal page
Ana Marušić
Professor of Anatomy and Chair,
Department of Research in Biomedicine and Health,
University of Split School of Medicine

Ana Marušić is Professor of Anatomy and Chair of the Department of Research in Biomedicine and Health at the University of Split School of Medicine, Split, Croatia. Prof. Marušić chairs the Research Committee of the World Association of Medical Editors (WAME) and is the Co-Editor in Chief of the Journal of Global Health. She is on the Steering Group of the EQUATOR (Enhancing the QUality And Transparency Of Health Research) Network. She is also the Co-Chair of the Cochrane Scientific Committee. Prof. Marušić has more than 200 peer-reviewed articles and was heavily involved with creating the policy of mandatory registration of clinical trials in public registries which helped change the legal regulation of clinical trials worldwide.

Personal page
Mark McMillan
Deputy Vice Chancellor (Indigenous Education and Engagement),
RMIT University

Professor Mark McMillan is a Wiradjuri man from Trangie, NSW. He is a Professor and Deputy Vice Chancellor (Indigenous Education and Engagement) at RMIT University.

In 2013, Professor McMillan was awarded the National NAIDOC Scholar of the Year award. He has received his Bachelor of Laws from The Australian National University, a Graduate Diploma in Legal Practice from The Australian National University, a Master of Laws and a Doctor of Juridical Science from the University of Arizona, a Certificate II in Indigenous Leadership from the Australian Indigenous Leadership Centre and a Graduate Certificate in Wiradjuri Heritage, Language and Culture from Charles Sturt University.

Professor McMillan was admitted to the Roll of the Supreme Court of the Australian Capital Territory as a Legal Practitioner in 2001. He is a current board member of the National Congress of Australia's First Peoples and the Trangie Local Aboriginal Land Council.

Professor McMillan’s research interests are in the area of human rights and, in particular, the expression and fulfilment of those rights for Indigenous Australians. He is currently working on an ARC grant relating to Indigenous governance and jurisdiction for native nations. He intends on expanding his research outcomes to include the application of ‘constitutionalism’ for Indigenous Australians, with a particular emphasis on the use of current constitutional law for the protections envisioned for Indigenous people in the constitutional referendum of 1967.
David Moher
Associate Professor,
School of Epidemiology and Public Health,
University of Ottawa

Dr. David Moher is a Senior Scientist of Clinical Epidemiology Program in Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, where he directs the Centre for Journalology (publication science) ( He is also an Associate Professor, School of Epidemiology and Public Health in University of Ottawa, where he holds a University Research Chair.

Dr. Moher received a MSc in epidemiology, and PhD in clinical epidemiology and biostatistics. He spearheaded the development of reporting guidelines including the CONSORT and PRISMA statements; and he also directs the Canadian EQUATOR centre. Dr. Moher led a program to develop a set of core competencies for scientific journal editors. He also leads an active program investigating deceptive journals, and is actively developing a program to investigate alternatives for assessing scientists in academic medicine.

Personal page
Bhushan Patwardhan
University Grants Commission in New Delhi

Professor Bhushan Patwardhan is the present Vice Chairman of University Grants Commission in New Delhi, an apex regulatory body for providing grants and maintenance of standards in Indian higher education. He is a biomedical scientist and a Fellow of National Academy Sciences, India. He pioneered efforts to establish a Center for Publication Ethics at the Savitribai Phule Pune University.

Professor Bhushan Patwardhan is also the Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Ayurveda and Integrative Medicine published by Elsevier, and is on different Editorial Boards of reputed Journals. He is a recipient of prestigious orations, awards, and several research grants. He has guided 20 PhD students, 8 Patents, over 120 research publications and 7,200 citations.
Christa Van Zyl
Director, Office of the Deputy CEO for Research
Human Sciences Research Council

Dr. Christa van Zyl is a Director in the Office of the Deputy CEO for Research in the South African Human Sciences Research Council (HSRC). She has a strong interest in the promotion of research integrity amongst researchers, research managers and the broader research community. Having been appointed as the first research integrity officer at the HSRC, she learned about this important area of work through self-study, reflection, planning and hosting of collaborative workshops, and networking with peers. This led to her involvement in the African Research Integrity Network (ARIN) where she currently serves as a member of the Steering Committee.

Personal page
African Research Integrity Network